Jackson Ready to Power SHU back to the Tournament

2016quanny
Seton Hall Athletics

The time has finally arrived.

After sitting out the 2015-16 campaign due to NCAA transfer rules, senior guard Jaquan “Quanny” Jackson is ready to show off her skillset in a Seton Hall uniform.

“I’m so excited to get out there and play,” Jackson said when asked about the upcoming season. “I love my team I really do but, I can’t wait to just see another squad and play meaningful basketball and contribute.”

After transferring from Louisiana Tech to play under Head Coach Tony Bozzella, Quanny had to sit out the last season and could only practice with the team. The decision to transfer for Jackson was difficult in-part due to the success she had while playing for the Lady Techsters.

In her two seasons there she averaged nine points per game and was a Conference USA All-Freshman team selection in 2014. During rookie campaign, Quanny led the Lady Techsters in three-pointers made with 51 and three-point shooting.

“When I wanted to leave there to leave it was good timing because Coach was interested in me and I was interested here so it kind of was a good fit.”

The talent Bozzella saw out of the Texas native impressed him greatly and he knew that he wanted a player of her caliber in his program.

“Her game fits so well in what we want to do here,” Bozzella said. “What I love about Quanny is that she knows her role and can play with the best players in the country and compete her hardest.”

That attitude and desire stems from her family and how she was brought up and Jackson thanks her siblings for her work ethic.

“They’re with me everywhere I go,” Jackson stated. Quanny, the youngest of five, has a picture of her family attached to her backpack and it helps keep her grounded.

“The picture is a constant reminder of why I work hard, some days are better than others and it’s good to for me to have that with me to make sure I keep focused.”

Jackson needed that focus as she struggled in her sit-out year not being able to compete in live games. It was a frustrating process for her not being able to play in games or travel with her teammates, but going through that year made Jackson tougher in her mind.

Now with her redshirt year now in the past, Quanny is ready to help push the Pirates toward another Big East championship run and a third straight NCAA Tournament bid.

“I just want to help this team win as many games as possible and be a better leader for this group,” Jackson said. “That’s all I care about, is winning and I am going to do my best to help us do that.”

 

Leave a Reply

